Japanese Curry

Good afternoon everyone! Happy Friday Eve 🙂 It’s almost at the end of the week. Does anyone have weekend plans? I’ll be making some pesto chicken sliders with melted swiss and cheddar for my family! I’m so excited because I’m using King’s Hawaiian bread. It’s delicious and sweet with a fluffy texture. If you haven’t tried it before, check your local grocery stores or Costco. That’s where I usually buy it from and you definitely would not regret your purchase!

Anyways! Today’s post is dedicated to curry. More specifically, the Japanese kind. What’s the difference between Indian and Japanese curries? Indian curries are thinner in consistency, almost like a soup; whereas Japanese curries are much thicker. Japanese curry is also not as spicy and comes in a white or yellow curry base. Both versions are just as flavorful and delicious and of course, you cannot go wrong pairing it with fluffy aromatic rice.

20170617_145708

In a previous post, I mentioned that I went to Smile House Cafe. While there, my family and I ordered several dishes we could share. These were one of the dishes and it was my grandpa’s favorite 🙂 This was the Beef Brisket Curry and it came with soft carrots, decadent stewed onions, chunky potatoes and lots of tender brisket. OMG you guys, this was one of the best curries I’ve eaten. It had the perfect amount of spice, not too much that I had to keep downing my water but enough to wake up my taste buds and give it a flavorful kick. I’d say my grandpa has exquisite taste! I usually don’t eat Japanese curry but when I do, it never disappoints!

Smile House Cafe is located in the Sunset district of San Francisco and they offer plenty of other dishes so if curry doesn’t satisfy your cravings if/ when you go there, don’t worry! They offer a plethora of plates ranging from fried rice to hot pot. If you’re ever in San Francisco, come by this adorable cafe restaurant to get your fix of warm and delicious Japanese curry!

Now the great thing about this is that you can find this dish in a lot of sushi bars or Izakayas (casual Japanese gastropubs). They usually serve it on the same plate with rice on one side and the curry roux on the other. With the curry is also your choice of meat katsu such as chicken or pork, placed on top of the platter. If you want to make Japanese curry at home, you can find instant box mixes at your local Asian grocery stores. The box contains a curry paste, that you mix into boiling water then steam it with vegetables. You’ll have to add in your own meat though! My favorite brand to use is Golden Curry, and they come in different flavor bases as well as an assortment of spice levels. I usually use half the box and it makes a lot of curry for me to last about 5-6 meals! You guys have to try this brand!

I hope you will get to enjoy the lovely decadence that is Japanese curry! If you’ve already tried it, how did you like it and where did you go to eat it? I’d love to know! 🙂 *This post was not sponsored!*

Here’s their Yelp page: https://www.yelp.com/biz/smile-house-cafe-san-francisco

Leave a comment