Gyudon

Hello everyone! Happy Sunday! I hope your weekend has been treating you well. My weekend has been very relaxing and I’ve been sleeping more to regulate my schedule back to the Pacific Time Zone. Since coming back from Florida, even though it’s only a three-hour time difference, it’s taking me a bit of time to get back to my usual routines! I miss Universal Studios and visiting The Wizarding World of Harry Potter. But honestly, what I’m missing the most right now is the delicious food I had the opportunity to try while in Orlando. It was so much better, and cheaper, than the theme-park food. If you aren’t in a rush or not wanting to spend the entire day at the parks, I highly recommend exploring the city of Orlando and introducing your taste buds to new favorites!

Speaking of food in Orlando, today’s post is dedicated to delicious GYUDON! Gyudon is Japanese that literally means beef and rice bowl. ‘Gyu’ means beef and ‘don’ means to place it over rice. There was a restaurant recommended to us by my aunt that was right near our hotel so we didn’t have to venture too far to find it. The restaurant’s name is very cute and it’s called Sushiology. Seems like many restaurants are starting to get on the “ology” hype. Yay for science terms!

Anyways, Sushiology offers delicious varieties of rolls and donburi (rice bowls). They pride themselves in being a sushi fast-food restaurant where you order at the counter and they’ll bring it to you at your table. This place was so good that we went twice while in Orlando.

20170725_131137

This beauty right here was what I ordered and it’s the delicious Gyudon. Gyudon is thinly sliced beef that has been sautéed with sweet yellow onions. It’s cooked until both meat is tender and onions are melt-in-your-mouth soft. It’s covered in a thick sweet soy sauce that blankets the rice underneath. This was such a dream to eat and my taste buds were craving for more even after I finished this bowl. Usually, gyudon is served with pickled ginger, that is colored pink from the pickling process, and it’s a refreshing side that cuts through the fatty bites of beef. I don’t usually prefer ginger and I’m not too fond of the taste but with this beef, it was amazing.

Now of course, this is in Orlando, Florida. They have two locations and we went to the International Drive location. If you’re around the Universal Studios park or if you’re lucky enough to have your hotel near it, please come to Sushiology and enjoy some delicious Japanese fast-food. It’s a healthier and less-pricey option than eating a chicken tenders plate at the park. Trust me, it’s worth leaving the park if it means you’ll be getting more bang for your buck as well as a tasty lunch/dinner.

If you so happen to NOT be in Florida, no worries! I’ve tried gyudon right here in the Bay Area and they were just as delicious. Unfortunately, I don’t have any pictures but that just means you’ll have to go and order a bowl for yourself and feast (literally) your eyes on the magnificent meat before you! In San Francisco, I went to Dojima-Ann located in Downtown near Union Square. Since it’s in the middle of all the city and tourist action, it can get crowded in this small and quaint restaurant. But that’s a good sign that they serve up great meals! In Cupertino, which is a city right next to San Jose, I ate at Yoshinoya. They have other locations as well so be sure to check out their website to see if there’s one near you! They specialize in donburi so their gyudon was very tasty.

Here’s the website for Sushiology: http://m.sushiology.net/index.html

Here’s the Yelp page for Dojima-Ann: https://www.yelp.com/biz/dojima-ann-san-francisco

Here’s the website for Yoshinoya: http://www.yoshinoyaamerica.com/

I hope you’re craving some gyudon or rice bowls after reading this because I sure am after writing and reliving those delectable moments of beef bliss. If you find yourself wanting a delicious meal to keep you full and satisfied but also don’t want to break your wallet, find a Japanese restaurant that serves this! You will be so happy 🙂

*This post was not sponsored!*

 

 

 

One thought on “Gyudon

Leave a Reply

